L.C.

I am falling for Leonard again
Like blanket over land
tucked in from the rain
and thunder

In a moment of despair once
a moratorium on love songs was issued
Until a few dozen dissolved
in the drinking fountains
of large cities
there will be no more love songs!
‘Drink!’ shouted a woman
looking like my mother
in the year preceding her death
Wearing her hair down
her lips and her hips young
she posed
with a steaming espresso
and bikini-clad
If I had introduced her to Leonard
he would have pawned his heart
A poet’s heart for my mother
But what of that – she is long gone
and now this heart not mine
keeps falling in and out of love
instead of her

When I fell in love with Leonard the first time
I slept with a skinny boy who shaved my head
He never knew that the madness of tea and oranges
was printed all over my white
cotton dress with small flowers

Years ran before
I stumbled upon some courage again
I featured Leonard in a story then
and paid him a visit
I remember, standing in the kitchen
he commanded my attention with his voice

Once, he said
there was a time when young men and boys
had names like strongmen and heroes
They didn’t trust history
and so they fell in love
That was how young girls and women
would remember them

At Leonard’s that night
Loneliness curled above lit candles
and vanished
Misery ran after – an abandoned bride
Audacity stayed
As a companion, he said
To lend a hand
when I find myself again
going through record crates and
randomly opened books
in search of someone to love

Ostavite odgovor

